SMBE NSW Letterhead logo


The SMBE (NSW) Inc was founded in 1966 to advance the cause of Biomedical Engineering in New South Wales. Our aim is the advancement of the use and understanding of Biomedical Engineering through research and practice, the promotion of interchange of ideas and interests in this area as well as the representation of persons working in these fields. Since 1966 the SMBE NSW has firmly established itself in Biomedical Engineering and has experienced an overall increase in membership not just from NSW but from other states and territories of Australia and also from New Zealand.

It is now one of the largest Biomedical Engineering organizations in Australia.  

The Current Executive & Councillors for 2018 & 2019 are:-

President & Acting Secretary: Bruce Morrison - Morrison Newlin Consulting

Vice-President: Larry Yates - Western NSW LHD (Dubbo Base Hospital)

Treasurer: Frank Kwiatkowski  - MHACCQL


Peter Morcom - Chivaune Consultants

David Huynh - South Eastern Sydney LHD (Prince of Wales Hospital)

Wayne Ussher - Port Macquarie Private Hospital

Chris Hargans - Nepean Blue Mountains LHD (Nepean Hospital)

Paul Sweeney - Medtronic

Webmaster: Frank Kwiatkowski

Life Members:

George Sebestyen – NSW Department of Public Works (deceased)

Gordon Hunt – Watson Victor (deceased)

Graham English - Watson Victor (deceased)

Ray Dixon – EMI (unknown)

Leo Barnes – Prince Henry Hospital - Sydney, Royal North Shore Hospital - Sydney, TCS, TUV and others

Frank Kwiatkowski - RAAF, Tektronix, Squibb Medical Systems, SpaceLabs, Box Hill Hospital, Albury Base Hospital,  Albury Wodonga Health, Mercy Health & Aged Care Central Queensland.

Peter Morcom - Chivaune Consulting

Bruce Morrison - MN Consulting (formerly worked at the Neuropsychiatric Unit, Prince Henry Hospital, Lidcombe Hospital, Concord Hospital, John Hunter Hospital, NSW Health Infrastructure, Papua New Guinea, Timor-Leste and several Pacific Island Countries).

Copyright © SMBE NSW 2014
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software